Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Bernnie Brandt: a constructive, active, young voice vying for the Polk County School Board

I think Bernnie is worthy of the District 1 seat I held, which incumbent William Allen seems to treat as a token of status and stepping stone to some higher status office in the future.

You can check out Bernnie Brandt’s campaign website here; and here’s how to contribute if you choose. We sat down to chat; and I liked this answer quite a bit.

I hate [the term “School Board member”] because that implies membership to some sort of elite club. The unfortunate reality is that around the country, people treat it that way. And you shouldn't treat it that way because you're not a member of an elite club. You are someone who has the privilege and responsibility of representing, in this case 700-and-change thousand people.

And my biggest goal is to be that school board member that inspires the citizens to say: “I want to get involved. I'm confident that if I express my concern, my issue, whatever it is, it's going to be heard. An effort is going to be made to understand it, and it's going to be addressed.” — Bernnie Brandt (49:35)

Incumbent William Allen and I faced off for this seat in 2020, back when I held it. William won the campaign 52-48. So I know this entire conversation is inevitably fraught. I address that right at the start (1:10) and people can decide for themselves if my critiques/questions and points-of-view are accurate, fair, or just sour grapes. For what it’s worth, I had nothing to do with Bernnie deciding to run, have no role in his campaign, and have only spoken to him a few times.

After my disclaimer, Bernnie tells his own story and points-of-view capably. And people can assess those for themselves.

Moreover, William Allen, like any elected official, has a standing invitation to come chat with me about his performance in the role and his vision for the future, if he has one.

0 Comments
Public Enemy Number 1
Public Enemy Number 1
From Cobra Kai to marriage, Billy and Julie often deep conversations about stupid things -- or stupid conversations about deep things -- in their hot tub. For some reason, they think you might care.